Select Page

City Union Bank

Share this page

The Ruling Nepal Communist Party (NCP) has won 16 seats out of 18 in National Assembly, the upper house of parliament. Its alliance partner Rashtriya Janata Party Nepal has bagged the remaining two seats.

The election for 18 vacant seats of the National Assembly was held in all seven provinces of Nepal on Thursday. A total 45 candidates from six political parties were in the fray.

The main opposition Nepali Congress could not win a single seat. This is perhaps the first time in the political history of the Himalayan nation that the Nepali Congress could not get a single seat in the election. The two-year tenure of 19 lawmakers of the National Assembly is expiring on March 3.

One seat will be filled by the presidential appointment on the recommendation of the government. The National Assembly has in total 59 seats and one-third of the seats remain vacant every two years. The members are elected by an electoral college comprising lawmakers from all seven provincial assemblies and representatives from local bodies.

Share this page